Before & After: 5 of Our Favorite Renovations

Renovations can be tricky and time-consuming, but in the end, these 5 renovations prove that it's all worth it!

Before

After

Featured: Full of Potential 

Leigh and Kevin Misso of River Brook Design & Construction transformed a condemned Homewood property into their personal home.

- Sponsors -

Resources: 
Builder, interior design, landscape: River Brook Construction and River Brook Interior Design, riverbrook.construction Kitchen: Hardware: Brandino Brass, brandinobrass.com Appliances: Allsouth Appliances, allsouthappliance.net Lighting fixtures: Mayer Lighting, mayerlighting.com Countertops: Maranatha, maranathagranite.com Flooring: Morton Flooring, mortonflooringllc.com Bathroom hardware:  Brandino Brass Bathroom tile/backsplash: Floor & Decor, flooranddecor.com Furniture, accessories, art, fabrics: Stock & Trade, stockandtrade.com; Table Matters, table-matters.com; Suite Dreams, suitedreamsal.com Paint: White Dove and Collingwood, benjaminmoore.com

Before

After 

Featured: Before & After: Cottage Kitchen Transformation

Designer Cyndy Cantley transformed a cramped Crestline cottage kitchen into an airy, welcoming space with added storage and French flair.

Resources: 
Interior designer: Cyndy Cantley, Cantley & Company, cantleyandcompany.com, 205.324.2400 Cabinetry and hardware: Cantley & Company Appliances: AllSouth, allsouthappliance.net, 205.942.0408 Countertops: Triton Stone, tritonstone.com, 205.592.0202 Sconces: Village Firefly, villagefirefly.com, 205.870.4560 Plumbing fixtures and sink: Fixtures & Finishes, fixturesandfinishes.com, 205.323.5616 Kitchen table: Henhouse Aniques, henhouseantiques.com, 205.918.0505 Chairs:Patina, shoppatina.com, 205.802.9805 Bar area wallpaper: Giove from Schumacher, schumacher.com Kitchen paint color: White Dove, Benjamin Moore, benjaminmoore.com

Before

After 

Featured: The Next Generation

A respectful renovation brought loads of personality and a new family to a 1950s Mountain Brook rancher.

Resources:
Interiors: Hartman Neely Interiors, hartmanneelyinteriors.comArchitect: Scott Torode, Pfeffer Torode • 334.513.1976 pfeffertorode.com Landscape design: Brent Donaldson • 205.337.2473 donaldsonlandscape.com Kitchen cabinets: custom hardware: Emtek emtek.com Appliances: Wolf subzero-wolf.com Countertops, tile, backsplash: Synergy Stone • 205.556.8115 synergystoneinc.com Sound system: Thomas Audio Video • 205.543.6224 Rug: vintage Heriz Interior wood details: cypress with semitransparent stain Custom living room sofas and daybed headboard: Griffin Upholstery • 256.237.6674 Lighting: Visual Comfort from Chickadee visualcomfortlightinglights.com Artwork in nursery: Chickadee Paint colors: Walls: Origami White, Daybed Room: Chelsea Grey sherwin-williams.com,  Nursery stripes: Benjamin Moore Moonshine Grey benjaminmoore.com

Before

After

Featured: California Cool

The stunning modern architecture of this Brookwood Forest home was appealing to its new homeowners looking for a cool L.A. vibe. With the help of designer Lisa Flake, they created a true showstopper.

Resources:
Interior Design: Lisa Flake, Caldwell Flake Interiors, caldwellflake.com Remodel architect: Brian Jernigan, wmbrianjernigan.com Fireplace design: Gary Justiss, garyjustiss.com Fireplace insert: Southern Fireplaces, southernfireplaces.com Kitchen backsplash: Crossville Studios, crossvillestudios.com Kitchen barstools: Details, 205.870.8005. Rugs: Hiltz Lauber, hiltzlauber.com Wall color throughout house: Decorator’s White by Benjamin Moore, benjaminmoore.com Glass stair railing in entrance and mirrors in master: Birmingham Glass Works, birminghamglassworks.com Pool: Swimrite Pool Services, swimritenow.com, GreenGo Aquatics, greengoaquatics.net

Before

After

Featured: Explore this Mountain Brook Tudor Renovation

After 15 years in a Mountain Brook Tudor, the Scott family had a long list of things they wanted in their next house. Instead, that list became goals for a long-time-coming renovation of their beloved home.

Resources: 
Interior Design: Aimee Belden, Belden Designs, LLC, 205.613.1341 Architect: Lissy Frese,  CCR Architecture & Interiors, ccrarchitecture.com, 205.324.8864  Landscape: Gary Webb, garyawebbhorticulturalist.com, 205.655.7974  Pillows and window treatments: Theodore’s Custom Interiors by Tammy Horstead 205.663.0417 Kitchen hardware: Avondale Specialty Hardware, avondalespecialtyhardware.com Den rugs: Nashville Rug Gallery, nashvilleruggallery.com, 615.484.1719 Powder room soapstone counter/backsplash: Stone Concepts, 205.836.6425

Get the best of Birmingham delivered to your inbox

Stunning local homes, inspiring before & after projects, southern-style recipes, entertaining ideas and more!