Poolside Paradise

Take a look at some of our favorite poolside retreats. Who needs a vacation when this is your backyard?

Featured: Classical Reflections

Landscape architect David Brush extends the refined style of this Tuscaloosa home to the outdoors.

Resources: David N. Brush, Landscape Architecture, Inc. 205.408.2214 • dbrush@davidnbrush.com, davidnbrush.com

- Sponsors -

Featured: Raising the Roof

Architect Bill Moore takes a low-slung, one-story house from sad to sensational with some much needed height and plenty of space for entertaining.

Resources: Architect: Bill Moore, Carlisle Moore Architects, Inc., carlislemoorearchitects.com Interior designer: Emory Ratliff, Emory Ratliff Interiors, 205.807.6586 Builder: Trey Goldstein, Cotton Construction, cottonconstructioninc.com Landscape architect: Doug Travis, Liberty Environmental Contractors, landscapesbyliberty.com Realtor: Bradley Perlis Group, LAH Real Estate, bradleyperlis.com Pool: Shoemaker Pool Service, shoemakerpools.com Security/sound: Andy Evans & Matthew Estes, 205.266.7983

Featured: California Cool

The stunning modern architecture of this Brookwood Forest home was appealing to its new homeowners looking for a cool L.A. vibe. With the help of designer Lisa Flake, they created a true showstopper.

Resources: Interior Design: Lisa Flake, Caldwell Flake Interiors, caldwellflake.com Remodel architect: Brian Jernigan, wmbrianjernigan.com Fireplace design: Gary Justiss, garyjustiss.com Fireplace insert: Southern Fireplaces, southernfireplaces.com Kitchen backsplash: Crossville Studios, crossvillestudios.com Kitchen barstools: Details, 205.870.8005. Rugs:Hiltz Lauber, hiltzlauber.com Wall color throughout house: Decorator’s White by Benjamin Moore, benjaminmoore.com Glass stair railing in entrance and mirrors in master:Birmingham Glass Works, birminghamglassworks.com Pool: Swimrite Pool Services, swimritenow.com, GreenGo Aquatics, greengoaquatics.net

Featured: Mid-Century Made Modern

When Lucy and Henry Smith acquired a long-admired architectural gem in Anniston, Alabama, they dedicated themselves to polishing the home’s dulled shine.

Resources: Interiors: Lucy Smith, Lucy Smith Designs, lucysmithdesigns.com; Lisa Flake, Caldwell Flake Interiors, caldwellflake.com Contractor: David White Construction, 256.239.5558 Art over mantel: William McLure, williammclure.com Kitchen Cabinet Color: Repose Grey, Sherwin-Williams, sherwin-williams.com Butler’s pantry walls: Dovetail, Sherwin-Williams Chandelier in bath: Anthropologie, anthropologie.com

Featured: Backyard Beauty 

Garden designer Peter Falkner pulled out all the stops in this garden by creating a series of outdoor rooms for backyard bliss at every turn.

Resources: Garden design and construction: Peter Falkner, Falkner Gardens, 205.447.1069, falknergardens.com; Design participation by interior designer Lindsey Hene of Elle and Vreeland Design House, 470.709.4146, elleandvreeland.com. Outdoor kitchen builder:Daniel Harper of Renew Properties LLC, 404.435.0644, renewpropertiesllc.com. Garden pots: Elegant Earth, 205.324.6464, elegantearth.com

Featured: The Defining Style of Peter Falkner

From narrow courtyards to pocket gardens to grand estates, Peter Falkner brings sophistication, style, and enchanting vistas to landscapes in Birmingham and across the South. Take a look at these highlights from some of our favorite spaces.

Resources: Landscape Design: Peter Falkner, falknergardens.com

Get the best of Birmingham delivered to your inbox

Stunning local homes, inspiring before & after projects, southern-style recipes, entertaining ideas and more!