Gearing up for Spring: 10 Gorgeous Home Exteriors

With spring on the horizon, take a look at some of our favorite home exteriors and lavish outdoor living spaces.

Photo by Jean Allsopp

Featured in: Two Renovations, One Stunning Vestavia Hills Home 

Looking to make a family-friendly Vestavia Hills neighborhood home, landscape designer Peter Falkner and his family endured two renovations and installed a wow-worthy garden and entertaining area to complete their forever house.

Resources:
Landscape design and installation, outdoor lighting, and grilling terrace: Falkner Gardens, falknergardens.com Designer: Doug Davis, Hannon Douglas, hannondouglas.comBuilder: Franks Building Company, franksbuildingcompany.com Fountain, chairs on side porch, casting of sink concrete: Elegant Earth, 205.324.6464; elegantearth.com Chairs on porch: Summer Classics, 205.358.9200, summerclassics.com

Photo by Jean Allsopp

Featured in: Past Made Present 

- Sponsors -

The only changes to the front exterior since 1927 are an extension of the terrace and the addition of two French doors with a big window between to capture city views along with a Parterre garden by landscape designer Peter Falkner. The design team added a canopy to protect the openings from sun and weather.

Resources:
Interiors:  Liz Hand Woods, 205.870.8005 Architect: Jason Dunham, Nequette Architecture & Design, nequette.com Builder: Francis Bryant Construction, francisbryant.com Landscape: Falkner Gardens falknergardens.com Kitchen hardware: Brandino Brass, brandinobrass.com Rugs: Foyer, living, study, & dining: Paige Albright Orientals, paigealbrightorientals.com Master bedroom: 18th Street Orientals, 18thstreetorientals.com Stair runner: Hiltz-Lauber, hiltzlauber.com Fixtures: Fixtures & Finishes, 205.323.5616 Firepit: Concrete Farmer, 205.790.1481

Photo by Jean Allsopp

Featured in: The Defining Style of Troy Rhone

An iconic cottage on a busy corner in Mountain Brook realizes its fullest potential thanks to owner and garden designer Troy Rhone and architect Bill Ingram.

Resources:
Troy Rhone Garden Design • 205.249.1030 • IG: troyrhone • FB: Troy Rhone

Photo by Jean Allsopp

Featured in: Well Positioned

Creatively using a narrow lot to his advantage, architect John Carraway designed a French cottage with a seamless flow between house and garden.

Resources:
Designer: Jeanne Rogers, 205.305.5243. Most fabrics and furnishings available through designer. Architect: John Carraway, Carraway & Associates 205.933.2114 Builder: David Camp, Camp Construction Landscape: Prime Landscape Services: DBA Webb Garden Design, 205.305.6517 Kitchen architect: Sissy Austin, Austin & Company, 205. 637.6048 Interior wall color: Simply White by Benjamin Moore Living Room: White Chinese vases: Circa Interiors & Antiques Sisal rug: Hiltz-Lauber Kitchen: Rug: Paige Albright Orientals Appliances: Ferguson Bath, Kitchen & Lighting Gallery Cabinet hardware: Brandino Brass Island Paint Color: Sealskin by Sherwin-Williams Master Bedroom: Light fixture: Circa Interiors & Antiques Bench: Henhouse Antiques Throw: Three Sheets

Photo by Jean Allsopp

Featured in: Inside Out 

Create living spaces and fabulous places both inside and out with cozy courtyards inspired by the homes of Alys Beach.

Resources:
Architect: Gary Justiss Architect garyjustiss.com Landscaper: Father Nature Landscapes 205.956.3030 fathernaturelandscapes.com Paint colors: exterior brick paint: Benjamin Moore Aura Exterior Paint “Glacier White” benjaminmoore.com; Exterior arched doors: Benjamin Moore Aura Exterior Paint “Downpour Blue”; Exterior French doors and trim: Benjamin Moore Aura Exterior Paint “Black Tar” Concrete pavers: FireRock firerock.us Front courtyard: iron sofas, dining chairs, and sofa cushions: Frontgate frontgate.com; coffee table: Summer Classics summerclassics.com Chandeliers: Pottery Barn potterybarn.com Back courtyard: concrete coffee table: Richard Tubbs Interiors richardtubbsinteriors.compillows: Pottery Barn chairs: Restoration Hardware restorationhardware.com

Photo by Heather Durham

Featured in: Double Take

A wall of windows was added to the back of the main living space, letting the natural light shine in and offering a great view of the backyard. A screened-in porch was also added off the dining room with retractable steel doors and windows to make the outdoor living space easily accessible. 

Resources:
Builder: Twin Construction • 205.802.3920 twincompanies.com Designer: Laurie Fulkerson/Twin Interiors Architects: original property: Joe Ellis, Dwelling Architecture • 205.790.1389 · dwellingarchitecture.com Renovation: Byron Smith, studiosmith Architecture LLC • 205.994.1516 s2archllc.com Landscape design: Falkner Gardens • 205.871.5999 falknergardens.com benjaminmoore.com Twin Interiors Artwork: Christopher House Antiques • 205.581.0202 christopherhouseinc.com Sectional: Restoration Hardware restorationhardware.com Steel windows and doors: Bessemer Glass • 205.428.3218 bessemerglass.com

Photo by Jean Allsopp

Featured in: Lake Season

With a relaxed tone attuned to the setting, this vacation home overlooking Lake Martin strikes the perfect balance between casual reassurance and gracious refinement.

Featured in: The Grown-Up House

A bluestone patio surrounds the pool and continues into the covered outdoor living area. The space has a grill and overlooks both the lake and the pool.

Resources:
Architect: James Carter, 205.871.7873 • jamesfcarter.com Interior design: Mark Kennamer of Mark Kennamer Design, 205.413.6976 • markkennamerdesign.com

Photo by Jean Allsopp

Featured in: Garden Presence 

Working within the framework of a 1920s garden, designer Rob Garrard restored this landscape to its original grandeur while infusing his own fresh style.

Photo by Chris Luker

Featured in: Raising the Roof

Architect Bill Moore takes a low-slung, one-story house from sad to sensational with some much needed height and plenty of space for entertaining.

Resources:
Architect: Bill Moore, Carlisle Moore Architects, Inc., carlislemoorearchitects.com Interior designer: Emory Ratliff, Emory Ratliff Interiors, 205.807.6586 Builder: Trey Goldstein, Cotton Construction, cottonconstructioninc.com Landscape architect: Doug Travis, Liberty Environmental Contractors, landscapesbyliberty.com Realtor: Bradley Perlis Group, LAH Real Estate, bradleyperlis.com Pool: Shoemaker Pool Service, shoemakerpools.com Security/sound: Andy Evans & Matthew Estes, 205.266.7983

Get the best of Birmingham delivered to your inbox

Stunning local homes, inspiring before & after projects, southern-style recipes, entertaining ideas and more!